Late last year, Google announced an update in Google Terms of Service. The new feature, called Shared Endorsements, let’s your connections see your recommendations on things they search for.
Here’s an example from Google:
“If you search for “Italian restaurants,” you might see an ad for a nearby restaurant along with your friend’s favorable review. Or, in Google Play, you might see that another friend has +1’d a new song or album. Your friend’s profile name and photo may appear with the recommendation.”
There have been mixed reactions on the update, and mostly worry about privacy. Here’s the simple steps on how to opt out of Google’s shared endorsements:
1. Make sure you are logged in to your Google Plus account then go to https://plus.google.com/settings/endorsements
2. Uncheck the box next to “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.” then hit SAVE.
Voila, you have now opted out of Google’s Shared Endorsements!
To learn more about Google’s Shared Endorsements and how it works, check out their update here: https://support.google.com/plus/answer/3403513
*Disclaimer: Alright, I am changing the rules of the 30-Day Blogging Challenge here. I missed out on blogging for a couple of days but I am still committing to finishing the 30 blog posts and report on its effect on our website traffic.