Gmail released a new feature that lets you send emails to your Google+ connections even if you have not yet exchanged email addresses. You know how gmail tries to guess who you are sending an email to while you are typing up the recipient’s name? It will now include your Google+ Connections.
Don’t freak out yet, here are a few important things to remember:
1. YOU ARE STILL IN CONTROL
– It is still up to you to enable this feature through the new setting in Gmail. (Think, Facebook. You can change the settings if you want only friends to send you a message or allow anyone.)
– Your email address will not be shown, only the ability to send you a message. (Think, Facebook. You can send a message to anyone but you will not know their details. You are just given a way to connect.)
2. SPAM FREE
– If you are like me and you are worried your inbox will be filled with spammy emails, worry no more. Gmail also released a Social Category.
“When someone in your circles emails you, the email will appear in the Primary category. But if you don’t have them in your circles, it will be filtered into the Social category (if enabled) and they’ll only be able start another conversation with you if you respond or add them to your circles.”
(Think, Facebook. Facebook Inbox Folder = Gmail Primary Category. Facebook Other Folder = Gmail Social Category.)
The new feature is set to roll out this week to users of Gmail and Google+.
As to what effect this changes can make to your email experience, I can’t tell yet. But think about it, is your Facebook messaging currently disabled for other people who are not your friends?
Read about Gmail’s announcement on their official blog here: